January 2021   OgreOgress releases fourth all-Hovhaness disc of premiere recordings

Back in the summer of 2014 we announced that enterprising independent label OgreOgress was working on a fourth disc of Hovhaness chamber work premieres. Having previously issued downloadable digital singles of some individual works featured on this release (now subsequently withdrawn) OgreOgress releases the whole album in January 2021 in a limited pressing of just 300. Whereas previous releases were primarily in a DVD audio format, this one comes as a standard audio CD. The works featured - all first recordings at the time of their recording - are as follows:

  • The Sea Angel for piano and narrator [1933]
  • Suite No. 1 for piano (Op. 9b) [1936]
  • Vahan (Divertimento) for 4 clarinets (Op. 61) [1947]
  • Haiku for the Full Moon for alto recorder and piano [1954]
  • Suite for cello and piano (Op. 193a)
  • Dance of Black-Haired Mountain Storm for flute and 3 percussion (Op. 183a) [1962]
  • Mysterious Horse Before the Gate for trombone and 5 percussion (Op. 205) [1963]
  • Bare November Day for harpsichord (Op. 210) [1968]
  • Dark River and Distant Bell for harpsichord (Op. 212) [1968]
  • 7 Love Songs of Saris for violin and piano (Op. 252c) [1972]
  • Fantasy for cello and piano (Op. 277b) [1974]

As well as the limited edition audio CD (see Amazon and Discogs links at right) the entire album can be freely streamed from the Bandcamp website (and app), where high-quality MP3 downloads are also available of the entire OgreOgress audio catalogue.

Performers, in alphabetical order, are Susanna Borsch, recorder and narration; Suzanna Dennis Bratton, clarinet; Christina Fong, violin; Glenn Freeman, timpani and percussion; GVSU Percussion Ensemble; Paul Hersey, piano; Michael Kornacki, clarinet; Nicholas Palmer, harpsichord; Joel Schekman, bass clarinet; Nancy Steltmann, cello; John Varineau, clarinet; Robert Ward, trombone; Tianli Yuan, flute.

Complete Track Listing and Timings


The four Hovhaness
releases on OgreOgress:

Solos Duos Quartets Sextet


Shambala | Talin | Janabar

Listen to audio at:


Solos | Duos | Trios

Listen to audio at:


Violin | Viola and
Keyboard Works

Listen to audio at:


Back to top